Tags

, ,

Some of my painted 40K figures were base coated with an old Games Workshop blue grey colour spray paint.  Nothing special these days, but this was done back when GW only did white and black.  For a year or so they tried to release some other colours but these didn’t sell so were discontinued.  About 10 years later they are now back selling a wide range of colours.  NOT ONE OF THESE COLOURS MATCHES THE ONE I ORIGINALLY USED THOUGH!

What that means is I cannot add figures to the units. If I want to expand the Army I have to find a way to mix colours without making it look like they are just badly matched versions of the same colour…

Originally I can recall that I had a spray can of the blue/grey colour and a can of a yellow. The result was a Space Marine Army that had some yellow troops and some blue.

To make the force look more unified, and to allow me to add new troopers, I have decided to add some yellow touches to the original blue troopers so that any new troopers can be painted in a yellow colour that I have found to match the original yellow base coat.

I am sure that I can convince myself that the Chapter was originally liveried in blue but changed their armour colour to yellow after some significant event or action.  Its only me that needs to be convinced so it doesn’t need to be to detailed. That said I may feel prompted to think up some sort of history for them…

So, the veteran’s helmet becomes yellow. Originally he had a bare head with a dodgy chestnut ink wash that gave him a skin tone that looked almost wood varnished.

They will never get more than a simple paint job as I have an aversion to painting GW plastic figures.  Some details are easy to pick out but others are moulded at a slight angle and almost blend into the lower layer.  I like clear lines to follow, if you know what I mean…

