Tags

,

Our last big game had us using transports, as well as our heavier vehicles, as a quick way to get infantry across the table (no surprise there).  We also spent a lot of time using them as mobile cover as well.  In fact, every time we tried to move our troops from alleyway to alleyway, (try to picture that iconic image of infantry walking in column behind their tanks).

image

Ironclad have again supplied me with a great little model that I plan to use as my main troop carrier.  I got it in the sale last month and its very different from their chunky resin tanks.

image

This reminded me of a tobacco tin on wheels with an old stove as a power supply at first.  It also has a certain boat like quality too.  I can picture it wading on to shore, chock full of marines…

The first images show it base painted but, as all of our Steam Wars armies currently sport light grey tanks, I had to add the usual weathering wash to get a darker tone.  This helps it stand out from other armies and also makes it fit in with my other tanks.

image

A couple of decals later and it fits in nicely as a Navy or Marine troop transport.

image

This is a lighter vehicle so I may give it a lower number of wounds and a faster speed when I point it up on our unit calculator.

image

Coronasan will get the rules up on his website at some point (but only when we stop breaking them each time we play test them).  The unit calculator is a thing of beauty (all 47 versions have been very easy to use but I should try to stop making him change things).

image

Soon the navy force will be upgraded from an advance force to an army proper as Black Pyramid will sending me their newly redesigned and restocked ratings any day now.

