Tags

Coronasan has a tradition of playing a big game at Xmas.  Usually this is held at the Stoney Stratford wargames club run by the Milton Keynes Wargamers Society.  This year that was all set to be a very large Steam Wars game with four players and 2 combined forces…

As with all great plans it stumbled at the first hurdle as the building was not available for us to use as planned. Such a large game could not be played in the shed so a smaller but still ‘quite big’ game was planned instead.  Still planned for 3 players but using 3 slightly smaller full forces.

Again fate took a hand and I was struck down with a life threatening cold (yes it was that bad – I could tell by the way my womenfolk looked at me – my daughter was actually offering to make me Lemsip…)

When I was ‘back from the brink’, we did get a big game played, but with only 2 players and 2 forces…

Mine was bigger than I had ever fielded and had all my infantry and guns, 4 tanks and, as I had more points than I could spend, I fielded a hover motor launch (with Blutac holding her engines and guns to the hull).

The hover launch was to be my fast assault carrier (next time I will give it the fast rule as it crept along at a measly 6 inches per turn).  This hardly even managed to deliver any troopers to the middle of the table, but did soak up a lot of fire, and return some with its deck gun too…  My assault troopers looked great stacked on its decks as well…

The real work was done by my steam tanks and infantry as they were more mobile and effective.

Sadly Coronasan also had a selection of steam tanks and some equally effective troops on his side of the table.

Our unarmed troop carriers also managed to play their part as both transports, and blocking terrain, when used to cover the troopers advances.

I teamed my lightly armed tanks up, as their weight of fire was not heavy enough by themselves.  Coronasan had his bikers out in force.  Their twin linked LMGs are a real pain…

Slow steady advances were made across the board and a lot of fun was had.  I am still waiting for an, all day, proper BIG game of this though.  Maybe one day in the next year we will get that missed big game played…

