Tags

, , , ,

I have been a little lax in keeping up with the initial flurry of posting that I kicked off this blog with.  It would seem that it is easy to start these things and much harder to maintain them. The initial urgency to tell my story has not faded but has been tempered over these last few weeks by the realisation that I must pace myself so as not to dry up completely…  I am coming to the end of my historical retelling of the last 2 years. That means all the easy stories have been written and then all the new posts will need to be based on what I am up to these days.

image

What am I up to these days?  With work and family commitments at the moment, not a lot…  But that’s ok, as I still have things to show you.

image

Dust was where we left of and where we return to…  These buildings (I know I get very boring when I go on and on about houses…) These buildings are the Original Dust Tactics builds released by Fantasy Flight Games. Available for purchase individually as a two storey block, or as a single storey build included in the Zverograd expansion pack.  One quick roof later and a base coat of light sandstone and away we go.  Roof top scenic bits are from the very good resin range by Ainsty Castings, their Streetwise flatroof selection if memory serves me..

image

The Dust builds are quite large and imposing and easily fit models inside for ease of use. However, my table usually falls back to the 4’x4′ standard of Post Office, Pub, General Store and Terraced Houses by Warbases.  Their range appeals to me in its simplicity and its versatility. I have played games like victorian sci-fi, steampunk and gothic horror in its cramped streets. World war 2 games (weird and normal) often find tanks roaming its roadways.  It never fails to please.  Recently new walled gardens, pathways and pillars have been added and don’t get me started on making chimneys…

image

A town sign has been seen by the duck pond (Hmmn, must get some ducks sorted out…) and park benches are popping up in its quiet corners.  When I get around to it, public telephones and post boxes are waiting in the bits box, ready for some bright red paint. The age old questions also plagues my sleep; can you ever have enough lamp posts?

image

Plague…  That leads me nicely into the first of the final two projects that have been seen in the shed. These last projects have taken me away from my well loved town and into the depths of space.  Sci-fi returned in two very differing guises both trying to corrupt me again…

After that I will have to find something up to date to tell you.

