Tags

, , ,

I’ve broken my own rules in the end.  I said I would not take new photos to tell old stories… I lied! (Well I had to if you were ever going to see what I was about to talk about…)

I don’t know why but I have only two photos to show what happened when we were expanding out from our World War II games.  That expansion started with our 15mm tank battle, and then went a little wild, with a return to 28mm (1/48 scale really) and the help of a fantastic range of miniatures from Dust Studios.

Stop the press…  Dust Warfare had come to town.

image

We had played Dust Tactics a lot about a year earlier, and we were really into collecting the releases as soon as they came out.  That slowed down as the cost crept up.  What that period of time left us with, however, was almost enough miniatures to play Dust Warfare as soon as the rulebook hit the shelves.

image

Dust is set in an alternate universe created by Paolo Parente. Its much like our world but with a twist. Alien tech has been captured but the Germans and used to affect the outcome of WWII.  Tanks have been replaced with walking guns and a new breed of science and technology has resulted in all manner of armoured soldiers and advanced weaponry.

The WWII setting attracted us initially, as we were coming out of a lot of Bolt Action games, and the alternate reality appealed to our Sci-Fi tastes.  The final push for me (as if I needed one) was the Germans flair for the dramatic and the fact they fielded BOTH Zombies and Intelligent War Apes.  That almost eclipsed the fact they had Laser guns and Walking tanks too…

image

As I said, we had lots to play with from our Dust Tactics collections. The Dust Studio Miniatures are usable in both the Tactics and Warfare games. 2 for 1 is always better…

image

Tactics focuses on a more free form army building style, while Warfare is probably a more sensible system with a strong focus on plenty of infantry backed up by a few key support vehicles and walkers.  This meant that I would have to get to know my infantry’s strengths and weaknesses and not rely on heavy walkers to win the day. Something I still haven’t perfected…

image

As Dust Tactics is basically a board game I had the excuse not to paint the miniatures because, as a friend pointed out, “they are only playing pieces”.  In Dust Warfare they are an army, so deserve to be painted.  One extra special bonus with Dust Studio miniatures is that they come primed and base coated already in the colour of your force.  They are therefore really easy to finish with a few colours and a decent ink wash.

image

Grenadier X here is a great example of what can be done. Zombies armed with Pizza Cutters anyone?

image

A friend, and fellow blogger, Coronasan, has recorded all his Dust painting exploits on his Loft Full Of Lead blog.  My painting so far only equals one squad of 5 laser grenadiers and 1 zombie…  His command Squad is shown here being evicted from the sweetshop that they so liked to hide in in many of our games.

Next up (and likely to be as slow to appear as this post). The Axis continues to muster its forces…

